Duran Duran – Danse Macabre – New Album Forthcoming Release

Written by on September 3, 2023

Some bands aren’t just music. Some bands, even their name brings you back in time to the person you were when their big hits first started coming across the airwaves. For me, the band Duran Duran hit me when I was maybe eleven or twelve, maybe a little younger. We had MTV actually playing music and it was in the halcyon days; it was fresh, it was new. And so was Duran Duran.

I am pleased as punch to tell you what I just learned myself, that the band has been putting out studio albums all this time. I’m even more pleased to tell you that they are soon releasing their sixteenth studio album, “Danse Macabre,” due out October 27th, just in time for the office Halloween party that Shiela and Mark will wish never happened. Damn file rooms.

But I digress. This album has a lot of interesting renditions of other songs, which we in the trenches simply call “covers” but Duran Duran is welcome to come to my office for coffee to explain the difference. So we’re talking about renditions of such songs as Billie Eilish’s “Bury a Friend,” Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer,” The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black,” Siouxsie and the Banshees’ “Spellbound,” Cerrone’s “Supernature,” and The Specials’ “Ghost Town.” To top it off, a “Rick James-inspired” track, entitled “Super Lonely Freak.”

Whether these are renditions or covers, it’s pretty amazing to hear Duran Duran do these songs. If you’re young, you have to realize how big Duran Duran was for us. I mean, not Elvis big, but big for a band from England coming over to shape musical minds. And their real reach was that they were pioneers of the music video. Again, MTV. Fresh. And Duran Duran was in the king’s court of all that.

Here’s the full list of songs on Danse Macabre.

Danse Macabre Tracklist:

  1. Nightboat
  2. Black Moonlight
  3. Love Voudou
  4. Bury A Friend
  5. Supernature
  6. Danse Macabre
  7. Secret Oktober 31st
  8. Ghost Town
  9. Paint It Black
  10. Super Lonely Freak
  11. Spellbound
  12. Psycho Killer (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
  13. Confession in the Afterlife

And here’s a taster:

Current track